Italian Super Cup in Saudi Arabia


Italian Supercup as a 4-teams tournament in Saudi Image: Coliseum GSVA

The Italian Super Cup will be played as a four-team tournament next season and will be held in Saudi Arabia for four of the next six years, Serie A said on March 13th.

‘MSN’ stated that Serie A said it would decide whether to maintain the four-team format for the following five seasons at a later date and after a meeting of its clubs.

The Supercoppa Italiana (Italian Super Cup) is an annual football match contested by the winners of the Serie A and the Coppa Italia in the previous season. If the same team wins both the Serie A and Coppa Italia titles in the previous season, the Supercoppa is contested by the Serie A winner and the Coppa Italia runner-up, in essence becoming a rematch of the previous year’s Coppa Italia final.

The Coppa Italia is an annual knockout cup competition in Italian football organized by the Italian Football Federation (FIGC) until the 2009-2010 seasons and the Lega Serie A (the governing body that runs the major professional football competitions in Italy) ever since.

The Serie A is a professional league competition for football clubs located at the top of the Italian football league system.

‘MSN’ further stated that the next two Super Cups will be held in Saudi Arabia, with two years elsewhere before returning to the Arab nation for the final two years. Serie A didn’t say where the two editions not to be held in Saudi Arabia would be played.

Next year’s tournament will be contested in January 2024. The Super Cup has up to now featured the Serie A champions and the winners of the Italian Cup, with the Serie A team Inter Milan thumping their peer team A.C Milan in this year’s edition in Riyadh (Saudi Arabia) in January. From next season it will feature the top two in Serie A and the Italian Cup finalists from this campaign, in a similar change to the one made to the Spanish Super Cup.

The Spanish Super Cup is a super cup tournament in Spanish football. Founded in 1982 as a two-team competition, the current version has been contested since 2019-2020 by four teams: The winners and runners-up of the Copa del Rey (knockout football competition in Spanish football) and LaLiga (the men’s top professional football division of the Spanish football league system). Top-flight FC Barcelona is the defending champions.

Continue to follow Coliseum for latest updates on venues business news. Coliseum is dedicated towards building the best global community of sports and entertainment venue executives and professionals creating better and more profitable venues.

Become a member of the only Global Sports Venue Alliance and connect with stadiums, arenas and experts from around the world. Apply for membership at and make use of the 365Coliseum Business.

Watch 250 member-exclusive videos with valuable tips for your venue

« Previous News:
» Next News:

Advertisement Coliseum Summit News Banner - SGL System
Advertisement Coliseum Summit news banner - NEXO