Málaga to host 2022 Davis Cup Knockout Stage


Malaga to host Davis Cup Image: Davis Cup Finals

The Spanish City of Málaga (Spain) will host the Knockout Stage of the 2022 Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals. Matches will be played on an indoor hard court at the Palacio de Deportes José María Martín Carpena in Málaga from November 21st-27th, 2022.

The ‘Davis Cup Finals’ stated that Málaga was originally chosen as one of the four venues for the Group Stage of the 2022 Finals from September 14th-18th but following a compelling bid to the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Kosmos, the City has been selected to host the Knockout Stage for two years.

The Davis Cup is the premier international team event in men’s tennis. It is run by the International Tennis Federation and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format.

London (UK)-based the International Tennis Federation (ITF) is the governing body of world tennis, wheelchair tennis and beach tennis. It was founded in 1913 as the International Lawn Tennis Federation by 12 national tennis associations. As of 2016, there are 211 national and six regional associations that make up ITF’s membership.

The Palacio de Deportes José María Martín Carpena is an indoor sporting arena that is located in Málaga, Spain. The current seating capacity of the arena is 11,300 for sports, and 10,000 for large concert events.

The ‘Davis Cup Finals’ further stated that the Davis Cup returns to the Palacio de Deportes José María Martín Carpena for the first time since September 2003, when Spain edged to a 3-2 victory over Argentina in the semi-finals.

ITF President David Haggerty noted the region’s Davis Cup pedigree: “The region of Andalucía has played an important role in the history of Davis Cup and Málaga is a perfect venue for the climax of this year’s men’s world cup of tennis.”

Andalucía has played host to the competition on multiple occasions – including the 2004 and 2011 Davis Cup Finals, which were played in Seville (Spain). Spain’s most recent Davis Cup tie, a 3-1 victory over Romania in the 2022 Qualifiers, was held in Marbella (Spain).

The other three Cities announced as Group Stage venues for 2022 – Bologna (Italy), Glasgow (Great Britain) and Hamburg (Germany) – will all host one group of four nations, with all matches taking place on indoor hard courts.

The bidding to replace Málaga as the fourth Group Stage host is underway and will be announced prior to the draw for the Finals on April 26th.

Cities from the 13 nations that have qualified for the 2022 Finals, but are not already hosting a Group Stage, are eligible to submit bids: Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, France, Kazakhstan, Korea Republic, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, and USA.

The draw for the Finals takes place in Málaga on April 26th at 13:15 CET (12:15 BST/11:15 GMT). The draw will be streamed live on the Davis Cup YouTube channel.

Continue to follow Coliseum for latest updates on venues business news. Coliseum is dedicated towards building the best global community of sports and entertainment venue executives and professionals creating better and more profitable venues.

Become a member of the only Global Sports Venue Alliance and connect with stadiums, arenas and experts from around the world. Apply for membership at coliseum-online.com/alliance and make use of the 365Coliseum Business.

Watch 250 member-exclusive videos with valuable tips for your venue

« Previous News:
» Next News:

Advertisement Coliseum Summit News Banner - SGL System
Advertisement Coliseum Summit news banner - NEXO