‘FIFA 2030 show should return to Uruguay’


South American countries launch bid for 2030 WC Image: IDOM

Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay officially submitted a joint bid on February 7th to host the 2030 World Cup, calling for the tournament to return “where football was born” 100 years after the first World Cup was held in Montevideo (Uruguay).

‘Reuters’ stated that during a ceremony organized by the Argentine Football Association (AFA), officials of the four countries were joined by Alejandro Dominguez, President of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL), who said that he hopes FIFA can show a “gesture of greatness” toward the region and allow it to organize the tournament.

The 2030 FIFA World Cup™ will be the 24th FIFA World Cup™, a quadrennial international football tournament contested by the men’s national teams of the member-associations of FIFA. The event will mark the centennial of the first World Cup.

The 1930 FIFA World Cup™ was the inaugural FIFA World Cup™, the world championship for men’s national football teams. It took place in Uruguay from July 13th to July 30th, 1930.

The Argentine Football Association (AFA) is the governing body of football in Argentina based in Buenos Aires.

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) is the continental governing body of football in South America and it is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations. The oldest continental confederation in the world, its headquarters are located in Luque, Paraguay, near Asunción.

Averred Dominguez, “The 2030 World Cup is not just another World Cup, it deserves a celebration with recognition for 100 years. We are convinced that FIFA has an obligation to honor the memory of those who came before us and believed in greatness and made the first World Cup.”

Commented Claudio Tapia, AFA President, “As world champions, we carry out this launch which is the dream of all South Americans. Not only on the centenary of the first edition, but because of the passion with which we live football.”

Argentina’s President Alberto Fernández made a statement on his official Twitter account saying that Bolivia will be asked to join “this dream”.

‘Reuters’ further stated that after the first edition in Uruguay, Argentina hosted the World Cup in 1978 and Chile in 1962, while Paraguay has never hosted the sport’s biggest competition.

The South American bid will compete with Spain-Portugal, who has signed a joint bid agreement, plus possible 2030 bids from Morocco and Saudi Arabia.

Continue to follow Coliseum for latest updates on venues business news. Coliseum is dedicated towards building the best global community of sports and entertainment venue executives and professionals creating better and more profitable venues.

Become a member of the only Global Sports Venue Alliance and connect with stadiums, arenas and experts from around the world. Apply for membership at coliseum-online.com/alliance and make use of the 365Coliseum Business.

Watch 250 member-exclusive videos with valuable tips for your venue

« Previous News:
» Next News:

Advertisement Coliseum GSVA News Banner - MatSing
Advertisement Coliseum Summit news banner - NEXO