FIFA women soccer spectacle venues declared


FIFA Womens World Cup 2023 stadiums announced Image: Football Australia

The first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup™ to be held in the southern hemisphere feels a step closer following the announcement of the Host City and stadia that will welcome the world in 2023.

‘’ stated that 10 stadia across nine cities were revealed early on April 2nd as Australia and New Zealand prepare to welcome the world for the biggest football fixture ever to be staged in the region.

From the Opening Match at the 50,000-capacity Auckland’s Eden Park, host to many of New Zealand’s great sporting moments, all the way through to the Final at Sydney’s 82,500-capacity Stadium Australia, site of the 2000 Olympic Games, the venues will offer a broad taste of the best of Down Under.

If the reaction of some of the players and other leading figures is anything to go by, it is set to be an adrenaline-rush event.

Host Cities and stadia:

  • Adelaide (South Australia) – Hindmarsh Stadium (Capacity – 16,500);
  • Auckland (New Zealand)/Tāmaki Makaurau – Eden Park (Capacity – 50,000);
  • Brisbane (Queensland, Australia) – Brisbane Stadium (Capacity – 52,500);
  • Dunedin (New Zealand)/Ōtepoti – Dunedin Stadium (Capacity -35,000);
  • Hamilton (Victoria, Australia)/Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium (Capacity – 25,800);
  • Melbourne (Australia) – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (Capacity – 30,050);
  • Perth (Australia) – Perth Rectangular Stadium (Capacity – 20,500);
  • Sydney (Australia) – Stadium Australia (Capacity – 82,500 and Sydney Football Stadium – 45,500); and
  • Wellington (New Zealand)/Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Stadium (Capacity – 34,500).

‘’ quoted Gianni Infantino, FIFA President, as stating, “As the first co-hosted FIFA Women’s World Cup™, the first edition co-hosted between two continents and the first to feature 32 teams, I congratulate and welcome the nine Host Cities. On behalf of FIFA, I look forward to working closely with you and with the whole of Australia and New Zealand.”

Infantino added, “The appointment of the nine Host Cities represents a major milestone for the next FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™, as well as for players and football fans across Australia, New Zealand and around the world. Building on the incredible success of France 2019 both on and off the pitch, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ and nine Host Cities across Australia and New Zealand will not only showcase the world’s very best players, but will also provide a powerful platform to unite and inspire people, transform lives and create a lasting legacy for women’s football in Australia and New Zealand and around the world.”

“I’ve gone on to play in front of some amazing Aussie crowds and some really cool stadiums in the City (Sydney) and now the rest of the world will get to experience it,” stated Australia defender Alanna Kennedy.

“To be the nation that welcomes the world to this global event will be very special. As well as showcasing the skills of some of the best players in the world and providing great entertainment, these matches can make a positive and lasting change to the women’s game. This tournament can inspire and encourage more women to get involved as players, coaches, match officials, and administrators,” stated Hon Grant Robertson, New Zealand Sport and Recreation Minister.

‘Football Australia’ stated that both Australia and New Zealand will also host one semi-final each with the full match schedule for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ to be announced later this year.

‘Football Australia’ quoted Chris Nikou, Football Australia President, as stating, “The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ will be the biggest sporting event on Australian soil since the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games, showcasing Australia and New Zealand to a global audience of over one billion people.”

Added Nikou, “Today’s announcement of the Host Cities and match venues for the tournament is a major milestone in the build-up to the next FIFA Women’s World Cup™ – a tournament that will unite nations, inspire generations and provide our diverse and multicultural game with the perfect platform to grow over the coming years.”

Johanna Wood, President, New Zealand Football, stated, “It is a privilege to co-host the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ in 2023 with Australia and we look forward to welcoming the world’s best athletes and their supporters to Aotearoa, New Zealand.”

Added Wood, “We have and will continue to work with our partners to deliver the biggest, most exciting and best tournament to date. The legacy of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ starts now and will go on to leave a lasting impression on women’s sport across both countries and the wider Asia-Pacific region.”

The selection of the Host Cities and stadiums follows a thorough and comprehensive process over the last eight-months conducted by FIFA, together with the two host associations, which included a series of virtual workshops and one-to-one workshops with all candidate Host Cities and stadiums, as well as an in-depth analysis of the Host City and stadium infrastructure and facilities, training sites and accommodation.

Continue to follow Coliseum for latest updates on venues business news. Coliseum is dedicated towards building the best global community of sports and entertainment venue executives and professionals creating better and more profitable venues.

Become a member of the only Global Sports Venue Alliance and connect with stadiums, arenas and experts from around the world. Apply for membership at and make use of the 365Coliseum Business.

Watch 250 member-exclusive videos with valuable tips for your venue

« Previous News:
» Next News:

Advertisement Coliseum GSVA News Banner - MatSing
Advertisement Coliseum Summit news banner - NEXO